Skip to main content

Ten Blinn students earn all-state band recognition

All-state honorees were invited to perform at the Texas Community College Band Directors Association annual convention

March 8, 2022

Ten Blinn College District band students earned all-state honors and were invited to perform at the Texas Community College Band Directors Association’s annual convention held recently in San Antonio.

Earning all-state recognition from Blinn were Ohany Acosta, Brenham, baritone saxophone; Denzel Blackmon, Houston, alto saxophone; Kali Crist, Burnet, clarinet; Rachel Draehn, Brenham, horn; Ivan Duran, Houston, alto saxophone; Sarah Fairman, Brenham, clarinet; Agatha Lee, Austin, clarinet; Hector Martinez, Houston, trumpet; Yvonne Perez, Rosenberg, clarinet; and Elizabeth Rosales, trumpet, Cypress Fairbanks.

“We are very proud of these students for representing Blinn in a professional manner,” said Dr. Sarah Burke, Director of Bands. “These students had the opportunity to work with Dr. Eric Wilson, Director of Bands at Baylor University, and Dr. Deb Scott, Director of the Stephen F. Austin top jazz ensemble, the Swingin’ Axes. These students prepared full concert programs over the course of the three days of the convention, culminating with a performance to close out the annual convention.

“In addition to working with these outstanding directors, they also sat alongside members of other community college programs and had an opportunity to meet more outstanding musicians from across the state of Texas.”

For more information regarding the Blinn Music Program, including scholarship and audition opportunities, visit

Enjoy this article? Share it with one click!






Get Connected