Skip to main content

Blinn Alumni and Friends Association honors six civic leaders with Hall of Honor induction

Blinn alumni honor Matt Bentke, Dr. A.C. "Buddy" Krizan, Hunter Goodwin, Kenneth Mutscher, Dathan C. Voelter, and Steve Westbrook

October 15, 2021

The Blinn College Alumni and Friends Association celebrated six civic leaders during its Hall of Honor induction ceremony Friday at the Blinn College-Brenham Campus.

The ceremony honored alumnus and Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative General Manager/CEO Matt Bentke, RELLIS External Academic Advisory Council Chair Hunter Goodwin, decorated military veteran and Blinn Foundation Board of Directors member Dr. A.C. “Buddy” Krizan, former Blinn College Foundation Director and Blinn alumnus Kenneth Mutscher, alumnus and Germania Farm Mutual Insurance Company Director Dathan C. Voelter, and alumnus and former Blinn College trustee Steve Westbrook.

A 1993 Blinn College graduate who played on the Buccaneers’ 1992 Junior College World Series baseball team, Bentke is the General Manager/CEO of Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative, the fifth-largest electric cooperative in the State of Texas and the 35th-largest in the United States. Bentke became CEO in 2016, has been as Bluebonnet for 21 years, and has served Bluebonnet in financial and operations roles with a focus on members, employees, community and safety.

Goodwin is the Chair of the Texas A&M University System RELLIS External Academic Advisory Council, an owner of Oldham Goodwin Group, LLC, and serves as President/Chief Operating Officer and Director of Hospitality. He is responsible for implementing the company’s business strategies, launching new ventures and initiatives, overseeing ongoing company operations, and developing synergistic business relationships. Goodwin specializes in the asset management and development of commercial, multifamily, and hospitality properties, utilizing his extensive experience in construction management and business operations.

A member of the Blinn College Foundation Board of Directors, Krizan served active duty with honor in the U.S. Army from 1965 until 1977. While serving, he earned the Bronze Star, Meritorious Service Medal, Purple Heart, Combat Infantry Badge, Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry, Vietnamese Honor Medal, and Army Commendation Medal with Oak Leaf Cluster. He retired from the Army Reserves as Lieutenant Colonel in 1987.

Krizan was awarded Murray State University’s Teacher of the Year Award in 1992. He was appointed Department Chair of Business Administration and Business Education in 1992 and became Assistant Dean at the College of Business in Public Affairs in 1997. In 1999, he assisted in establishing the university’s telecommunication systems management programs. Upson retirement in 2000, Dr. Krizan was made Professor Emeritus at Murry State University.

Mutscher served as Director of the Blinn College Foundation and was co-chair of the committee to raise funds for the W.J. “Bill” Rankin Agricultural Complex. He served as Director of Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative for 21 years and was past Director of Washington County Little League and Washington County United Way, a Washington County Fair committee member, and past President of the Brenham Noon Lions Club.

Voelter is a Director of Germania Farm Mutual Insurance Company and General Counsel and Secretary for Atlas Sand Company. His legal career includes practicing corporate and securities law at Vinson & Elkins and executive positions at global semiconductor and Fortune 100 energy companies executing mergers, acquisitions, and other deals on five continents totaling over $100 billion.

Westbrook began his professional career as a deputy sheriff in Henderson County at age 18, becoming the youngest deputy sheriff in Henderson County history, a mark that still holds today. In 1985, he was appointed special Texas Ranger with the Texas & Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association, becoming the youngest special Ranger at age 25. Westbrook served on the Blinn Board of Trustees from 1994 until 2011, serving terms as board president, vice president, and secretary.

For more information regarding the Blinn Hall of Honor, please visit

Enjoy this article? Share it with one click!






Get Connected