Hazlewood for Dependents of Veterans
The Hazlewood Exemption
- The Hazlewood Act provides Dependents of Veterans with up to 90 semester hours of paid tuition at Blinn College that are required for the student’s degree plan. It does not cover the cost of books, non-tuition related fees, or parking related fees.” The green is to let you know what changed
- Effective Fall 2014 all recipients of the Hazlewood Exemption Act must be meeting the Financial Aid Office’s Satisfactory Academic Progress Standards.
- Effective Fall 2014 all dependents using Hazlewood, except in cases where the veteran was killed in action or is 100% unemployable due to service related injuries, Hazlewood will only cover the tuition and fees for classes required for the degree plan up to the maximum number of hours required for their degree plan. In addition, dependents can only receive the Hazlewood exemption for up to 90 hours at Blinn College if the student changes degree plans.
- The Veteran must have entered the service in Texas, and/or maintained a home of record in the state of Texas (as stated on the DD-214)
- The Veteran must have served a minimum of 181 days of active duty, excluding training time (for reservists).
- Dependents applying for Hazlewood must prove dependency, either by birth certificate, marriage license or current tax return (if not the biological child of the veteran).
- The Veteran and dependent using the benefit MUST BOTH reside in the state of Texas while using the benefit, or the benefit user will be considered ineligible.
Documentation Required for Certification
DD-214 (Member 4 Copy):
- Must show Texas as either the Place of Entry or the Home of Record, their net active time served, and the nature of their discharge.
- Must be completed by the veteran and dependent and submitted each academic year (Fall, Spring, Summer) prior to requesting the benefit while attending Blinn College.
VA Eligibility Letter (Certificate of Eligibility)
- Must be submitted for veterans who left the service after August 1, 2009. Veterans must apply through VA in order to receive.
- Must be supplied in order to prove dependency. If they are the biological child, Marriage license if the spouse. If the child requesting the benefit is not the biological child of the veteran, both a marriage license and birth certificate are required.
VA REQuest for certification (ROC):
- This document must be submitted every semester you enroll to take classes. This is the last step for certification, and can only be turned in AFTER you have registered for classes.