Blinn College Blinn A to Z | Directory | About Us | Employment | Support Blinn     

Sealy Campus
3701 Outlet Center Drive
Sealy, TX 77474

May 29, 2013

Blinn – Sealy names Advisory Committee appointments

Judge Carolyn Bilski is reappointed and SHS Principal Megan Oliver joins the committee

The Blinn College Board of Trustees recently reappointed Austin County Judge Carolyn Bilski and appointed Sealy High School Principal Megan Oliver to the College’s Sealy Campus Advisory Committee.

Bilski is a Blinn College graduate who has served on the advisory committee since 2009, including service as president since 2011.

Now in her fifth term on the bench, she is the first female and first Republican county judge in Austin County.

An Austin County native, Bilski served on the Sealy City Council for 8 ½ years. She has had a Texas Real Estate Brokers License since 1982 and is an advocate for the Raising Academic Performance mentoring program utilized in Austin County school districts. She will continue to serve as the advisory committee president until her term expires in 2015.

Oliver replaces Sealy High School Career and Technology Education Department Director Allen Kaminski, who served as the committee’s secretary. Oliver just completed her 16th year as an educator, including her third as the principal of Sealy High School. Prior to that, she served as an agricultural science teacher, a high school counselor and an associate principal. She earned her Master of Education degree from Sam Houston State University and earned her bachelor’s degree in agricultural science from Texas A&M University.

The Sealy Advisory Committee represents the citizens served by Blinn’s Sealy campus, providing input to the College Board of Trustees and administration about the educational needs of the service area and the methods, procedures and programs it believes can best meet those needs.

Members of the committee are selected and appointed by the board for two- or three-year terms and may be reappointed for three consecutive terms. The committee elects a president, vice president and secretary to serve a two-year term.

Other members of the Sealy Advisory Committee include Joe Garcia, human resources manager at Mark III Plant Construction, Ltd.; Dale Lechler, former Sealy ISD superintendent; Kim Meloneck, executive director of the Sealy Economic Development Corporation; and Leroy Zapalac, former president of Citizens State Bank.

Blinn – Sealy, which recently won the Sealy Chamber of Commerce’s Pinnacle Award for promoting and supporting Sealy businesses, offers a variety of academic transfer, workforce training and continuing education classes to fit the need of any student. For information on course offerings and student registration, visit: or call 979-627-7997.