Blinn inducts 84 new members into Mu Alpha Theta

The honor society recognizes superior mathematical abilities

April 23, 2018

The Blinn College-Brenham Campus chapter of the Mu Alpha Theta national mathematics honor society recently inducted 84 new members during its 27th annual induction ceremony.

Twenty current Blinn students and 64 students from eight local high schools were inducted. Students are invited to the honor society based upon their math and overall grade point averages (GPA).

Mu Alpha Theta is designed to stimulate interest in mathematics by providing public recognition of superior mathematical scholarship and by promoting various mathematical activities. Regional high school math department heads and Blinn College math instructors select their most promising math students for induction into this honor society.

The Mu Alpha Theta induction ceremony is held each spring and recognizes students who show outstanding mathematical abilities. An overall grade point average of 3.0 or higher is required to be eligible for membership. 

New inductees include:

Blinn Students

From Blinn College – Gabriel Sanchez, Trevor Moore, Ryan Morris, Jacob   Gibson, Christopher Tupa, Samuel            Miller, Thang Nguyen, Mason Sumrall, Tommy Bui, Juan      Vargas, Alexander Vasquez, Cristal Romero, Austin Want, Heidi Mercer, Madalynn Suiter, Juan Figueroa, Sabrina Bonaccorso, Tahir Galvez, Luis Lopez and Zoe Madrid.

Bellville Students

From Bellville High School – Sydney Gelsthorpe, Isabella Luongo, Sarah Mahlmann, Conner Neumann, Felix Ortiz Jr., Mikayla Stark and Brayden Voelkel.

From Brenham High School – Rodney Weiss, Jason Noor, Chris Kubeczka, Meredith Clayton, Austin Derkowski, Landon Kruse, Kevin Pham, Kathryn Wittner, Eric Wellmann, Ryan Middleton, Robyn Gaertner, Travis Davis and Haylie English.

From Burton High School – Hailey Blakey, Emily Harmel, Madonna Liles and Mackenzie Wilke.

From Dime Box High School – James Anderson.

From Fayetteville High School – Jenna Orsak.


From La Grange High School –  Joshua Arnold, Halle Davis, Ami Ejner, Parker Gage, Daxton Givan, Tyler Johnson, Mason Juno, Reece Kollaja, Lauren Little, Mason Muras, Jairo Soto and Abbey Weyand.

Round Top-Carmine High School – Josephine Drydale, Adrian Garcia Leija, Madeleine Bullen, Marc Crosby, Randal Wied, Ava Myers, Jason Sotebier, John Leppard, Lydia Brock, Alyssa Hayden and Weston Haverlah.

Schulenburg High School – Rylie Lux, Lyssa Stromanis, Araseli Lara, Jordan Salem, Shae Winkler, Drina Rodriguez, Kassi Velasquez, Madeline Sommer, Leo Veloz, Alyssa Otto, Hannah Schulz, Hunter Schulz, Walker Sine, Elizabeth Pesl and Juan Reyna.









Visit our Social Media Directory
Board Agendas/Minutes

Media Contact

Richard Bray
Director of Communications, Media Relations, and Marketing
Blinn College District
Office: 979-209-7285

Mailing Address

Marketing & Communications
902 College Ave.
Brenham, TX 77833

About Blinn College

With an enrollment of 19,581 students, Blinn ranks among the nation’s leaders in transferring students to leading four-year universities and has received national recognition for affordable educational excellence.