Blinn College Blinn A to Z | Directory | About Us | Employment | Support Blinn     

Blinn – Brenham inducts 68 students into Phi Theta Kappa honor society

To earn membership, inductees must earn a 3.5 GPA with 12 transferable credit hours

February 13, 2017

The Blinn College – Brenham Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recently inducted 68 new members during a brief ceremony at the Dr. W.W. O’Donnell Performing Arts Center.

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Founded in 1918, PTK promotes scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship among its members. To be accepted, students must carry a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) or higher with at least 12 transferable credit hours.

“Being inducted is a great honor for these students,” said Colter Baldwin, PTK Advisor. “Membership in PTK can help students get into the school of their choice after Blinn, and it also opens the door for scholarship opportunities.”

PTK recently established a mentoring program at Blinn that has contributed to a 10 percent increase in KIPP and Yes Prep school student retention since the Spring 2016 semester. PTK also coordinated a student campus carry discussion forum in the fall and completed a research case study on global perspectives of gun rights, which has been submitted for regional and international awards.

PTK members have volunteered at the Special Olympics, Buccaneer Big Event, Habitat for Humanity, and the CARS Program in partnership with local elementary schools.

Wednesday’s inductees from Washington County included: Jessika Bennatt (Brenham), Ashley Bentke (Brenham), Cara Bentke (Brenham), Cameron Draehn (Brenham), James Gifford (Brenham), Ashley Hodde (Brenham), Daisey Jaramillo (Chappell Hill), Savannah Miller (Brenham), Jamie Pinner (Brenham), Kendall Swonke (Brenham), Alejandro Valencia (Brenham), and Juan Vargas (Brenham)

Other inductees included: Shelby Achille (Alvin), Yadira Avalos (Brookshire), Jason Brewer (Georgetown), Haley Briggs (Smithville), Blake Bronstein (Katy), Hadley Burton (Sealy), Kaci Collier (Luling), Isaiah Edwards (Houston), Hannah Ellis (Katy), Caleb Frame (Sealy), Joseph Geistmann (Fayetteville), Graysen Gilbraith (Dripping Springs), William Gilchrist (La Porte), Katy Gray (Sealy), Emma Greene (La Grange), Jonathan Haman (Mansfield), Kelli Haynes (Bellville), Jane Hua (Conroe), Kortney Hurst (Cypress), Reid Janish (Bellville), Lauren Kaelin (Edna), Apryle Kappler (La Grange), Claire Kennedy (Fulshear), Brooke Krucky (Saginaw), Blake Latz (Wimberley), Kathryn Laubacher (Corinth), Trevor Leithner (La Grande, Ore.), Matthew Lipovski (Burke, Va.), Genesis Macias Torres (Sealy), Benjamin Martin (Houston), Tristian Mathews (Houston), Sarah McCracken (Crosby), Mason Michalec (Boerne), Andrew Morgan (Spring), Roy Morgan IV (Somerville), Abigail Nicholson (Burleson), Risheil Ortiz-Ayala (Richmond), Mary Pierce (Brookshire), Sammy Pleus (Sugar Land), Vanessa Reyes (Houston), Joshua Rios-Castillo (Luling), Haley Rodriguez (Itasca), Raven Salce (Katy), Cassidy Schramm (Conroe), Stanford Schroder (Boerne), Chelsea Searcy (Itasca), John Stalder (Allen), Brandon Symmank (Houston), Ivan Thierry (Austin), Alyssa Thomas (Richmond), Christopher Tupa (Flatonia), Kayla Valigura (Hallettsville), Alexander Vasquez (Bellville), Kasie Vestal (Fredericksburg), Chase Wornell (Humble), and Deborah Zachgo (Austin).

Blinn – Brenham inducts 68 students into Phi Theta Kappa honor society