Blinn College livestock judging team claims title in season’s first national competition

Blinn wins the prestigious American Royal Livestock Judging Contest for the second time in school history

American Royal

November 2, 2017

The Blinn College livestock judging team won the first national contest of season at the American Royal Livestock Judging Contest in Kansas City, Kan., Friday, Oct. 27.

Blinn’s sophomore division won its third contest title of the year, placing first out of 28 total teams.

“We try to get our team to peak at the right time, and they worked really hard and focused and did a really good job,” coach Brice Mund said. “It is a big feat and it is tough to make that happen consistently, so I think that this team is on a path to do well throughout the fall and carry it over to the spring.”

This marks time Blinn has won the prestigious American Royal contest.

“This is something you grow up thinking about, and to have it happen was an amazing feeling,” Travis Bonner said.

Four Blinn students placed in the top 15 out of approximately 130 contestants. Sophomore Shyann Mattes finished the highest for Blinn with a fourth-place individual finish after topping the competition in the goat and sheep division.  

“Being the second team in Blinn history to win the American Royal was really exciting for all of us,” she said.

Kylie Patterson placed 12th, Grayson Gilbraith placed 13th, and Jaci Burgin was 14th, and Bonner placed 33rd.

The Blinn livestock judging team will continue the season Wednesday, Nov. 15, at the North American International Livestock Expo in Louisville, Ky.

Related Links









Visit our Social Media Directory
Board Agendas/Minutes

Media Contact

Richard Bray
Director of Communications, Media Relations, and Marketing
Blinn College District
Office: 979-209-7285

Mailing Address

Marketing & Communications
902 College Ave.
Brenham, TX 77833

About Blinn College

With an enrollment of 19,581 students, Blinn ranks among the nation’s leaders in transferring students to leading four-year universities and has received national recognition for affordable educational excellence.