Blinn College Blinn A to Z | Directory | About Us | Employment | Support Blinn     

Blinn inducts 80 students into Phi Theta Kappa honor society

Members must have a 3.5 GPA and 12 transferable credit hours

February 18, 2016

The Blinn College – Brenham campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) inducted 80 new members Wednesday during a brief ceremony in the Janis Sneed Banquet Room.

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Founded in 1918, PTK promotes scholarship, leadership service and fellowship among its members. To be accepted, students must carry at least a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) with at least 12 transferable hours.

“PTK creates pathways for students looking for leadership opportunities as well as essential skills within a professional environment,” said Ashley Hermes, PTK advisor. “There is a 91 percent graduation rate for students who are PTK members.”

Wednesday’s inductees from Washington County included: Kimiko Alexander (Brenham), Macie Becker (Brenham), Hailey Burgower (Chappell Hill), Maria Castillo (Brenham), Allison Crowson (Brenham), Emily Fairman (Brenham), Anna Galinski (Brenham), Courtney Goodyke (Brenham), Brett Haba (Brenham), Claire Hueske (Brenham), Garrett Longhofer (Brenham), Shannon Loukanis (Chappell Hill), Jessica Rangel (Brenham), Garrison Schulze (Brenham), Shelby Thiel (Brenham), Adalee Winford (Brenham), Lauren Winkelmann (Brenham), Desiree Wise (Brenham), Matthew Zettel (Brenham), Phillip Zuntych (Brenham).

Other inductees included: Alyssa Babbs (Kileen), Johnathan Bitzer (Austin), Tabitha Blaschke (Shiner), Victoria Buschow (Highland Village), Hope Cory (College Station), Chad Crosby (Round Rock), Christian Darnall (Austin), Meagan Dobbs (Hempstead), Dale First (Mansfield, Ohio), Aaron Forrester (Bryan), Ariel Galindo (Lakeway), Aubrey Galindo (Lakeway), Jordyn Galloway (New Ulm), Gil Sophia (Houston), Andrew Gallagher (Houston), Emory Geye (Rising Star), Alexandria Haynes (La Grange), Kyle Henry (Southlake), Natalie Hernandez (Irving), Katelyn Hester (Giddings), Danielle Hill (Huntsville), Nikai Hinojosa (San Antonio), Joseph Hooker (Huntsville), Laurie Hubbard (Houston), Makayla Jackson (Bellville), Jessica Jorden (Bellville), Ty Koether (La Grange), Hayden Kovar (Snook), Stephen Krout (Katy), Ricky Lanclos (Sealy), Jonathan Land (Katy), Sydney Landry (Friendswood), Madison Leidy (Pearland), Ronald Levy (Schertz), Mackenzie Maldonado (Lometa), Debra Marcel (Hempstead), Sierra Martin (Mason), Cesar Martinez (Sugar Land), Shelbi McGowen (Nacogdoches), Raymond Monahan (Friendswood), Colleen Nicholas (Houston), Payton Oltmann (Giddings), Aaron O’Quinn (College Station), Jacob Painter (Spring), Colton Parrish (La Vernia), Darian Phinney (North Richland Hills), Matthew Romanchuk (The Woodlands), Allison Sanches (Houston), Ashley Sloan (Hurst), Thomas Smith (Fulshear), Andi Spencer (Crosby), Blaine Suehs (Caldwell), Timothy Tate (Kenney), Jessica Tippie (La Grange), Taylor Vaughan (Carrollton), Sarah Whetstine (Cypress), Ethan Wingate (Brookshire), Austin Wright (Spring), Jihyun Yoo (Carmine), Johnny Zamora (New Braunfels).

Blinn’s academic transfer rate of 42.9 percent is the highest in the state, significantly exceeding the statewide average of 24.2 percent, and students taking 30 credit hours in 2015-16 save at least $3,345 (40.2 percent) compared to state residents at the average Texas public university.

Registration for eight-week courses remains available through March 20. For enrollment information and to learn about financial aid opportunities, visit: