Blinn College Blinn A to Z | Directory | About Us | Employment | Support Blinn     

April 15, 2013

Blinn College Ag Club named state’s best

Students capture top prize in 12 of 15 categories

Blinn Ag Club

The Blinn College Ag Club recently won the top two awards presented at the Texas Junior College Agriculture Association (TJCAA) State Convention in Kingsville.

Blinn captured first place in 12 of the 15 competitions held at the annual convention, which gathers agriculture clubs from throughout the state to promote leadership skills and unity. Blinn was named this year’s outstanding chapter in recognition of its numerous service projects and activities throughout the year, and was also named sweepstakes winner as the college that performed best in the 15 convention competitions.

“We’re fortunate to have a very, very active chapter,” said Ag Club Advisor Bryn Behnke. “This contest provides great validation for the hard work of our students and staff.”

Last year, the club totaled 6,199 hours of service at 124 events. They partnered with organizations such as 4-H, Future Farmers of America, Coastal Conservation Association of Texas and Texas Parks & Wildlife in organizing and staffing events. Volunteers also served at livestock shows, ag mechanics shows and county fairs. During the last five years, more than 80 members have volunteered annually at Washington County Fair.

In individual competition, Jenny Kuzmin of Plano won first place in entomology, second in the job interview, third in ag economics and fourth in animal science. Jacquelyn Wilson of Sweeny placed third in prepared speaking entomology and the outstanding student competition.

Cody Witzkoski (Wallis) placed first in agronomy/horticulture and agricultural mechanics; Taylor Walker (Spring Branch) placed first in prepared speaking and was elected TJCAA president; Whitney Grantham (Brenham) placed first in public relations and second in animal science; Alyssa Hupe (Dickinson) placed second in agronomy/horticulture and fourth in entomology.

Brittany Thomas (Normangee) and Megan Carter (Beaumont) placed first in scrapbook; Caitlyn O’Neil (Weesatche) placed first in wildlife; Dylan George (Round Rock) was third in agronomy/horticulture; Haleigh Ricks (China Grove) placed fourth in agronomy/horticulture; Karah Bradley (Ladylake, Fla.) won the public relations competition; Katelyn Sowa (Sealy) placed third in wildlife; Maria Jamieson (Castle Rock, Colo.) was first in the job interview competition; Sarah Weiss (Brenham) was first in public relations; Taylor Nieman (Wallis) was third in agricultural mechanics.

Hostetter was recognized as the outgoing TJCAA vice president and Rachael Laverenz (Guyton, Ga.) was recognized as the outgoing reporter.

For more information on Blinn’s ag science program, visit: