With Group Chat Preferences, you can customize the appearance and behavior of the Group Chat client to suit your needs. For example, you can edit the display theme for the client so chat rooms show the colors that you prefer. You can also configure notifications on chat rooms to which you belong so that you get an alert each time a specific topic is mentioned in a chat room.
With General Preferences, you can specify the general behavior of Group Chat. For example, you can configure the startup behavior for Group Chat so that the client automatically starts when you log on to Windows Server operating system.
|Automatically start when I log on to Windows||Check if you want Group Chat to start when you log on to Windows.|
|When closing the main window||
|Display notification for this many seconds||Select the time, in seconds, that a notification appears.|
|When I remove a chat room or contact, keep my preferences for this many days:||Select the number of days you want to wait before deleting preferences set for unused chat rooms and contacts.|
|Show all confirmation dialog boxes||Check if you want confirmation dialog boxes to appear.|
|Notify me when someone adds me to his or her contact list||Check if you want to be notified when added to others’ contact lists.|
With New Chat Preference, you can specify the default appearance and behavior of newly joined chat rooms. You can also configure notifications that appear when instant messages are sent to you, to a chat room, or to a chat room filter. New Chat Preferences are the settings that are applied, by default, when you join a chat room not currently in your My Chat list, or add a new contact or filter.
Chat room settings can be applied in one of two ways:
With the New Chat - Contact preferences, you can set preferences for all new contacts that you add to your list of contacts.
With the New Chat – Filter preferences, you can select the options to apply, by default, when you create a new filter.
You can set access levels for contacts to control the level of your presence status and information that is visible for those contacts. For example, if you want co-workers to see your work phone number, you can assign them to the Team level. If you want to block a person from sending you messages and seeing your presence status, you can assign them to the Blocked level. Access levels can be set at a user level, or you can use the Permissions dialog box to set access levels for user groups or domains.
The following table provides a list of presence status attributes that other users can see. The first column of the table shows the presence status attributes, and the other columns show whether the attribute is available for a given access level.
Note Because Group Chat and Lync presence information is integrated, changes are reflected in the Lync Contact list.
|Offline presence||Check if you want Group Chat to start when you log on to Windows.||X|
* If these attributes are defined in Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS), they are visible to all contacts within your company.
Note For details about presence information and access levels, see the Lync Online Help.
You can change the access level for a contact directly from your list of contacts in My Chat.
Group Chat enables you to change the access levels for groups, including specific domains. For example, you can change the access level for a specific domain from Public to Company if you want users in that domain to have access to your work phone number.
|People in my company||Permission settings apply to your contacts that are currently assigned to the Company access level. The default access level for this type is Company.|
|People in domains connected with my company||Permission settings apply to all federated users. The default access level for this type is Public.|
|People in public domains||Permission settings apply to Public Instant Messaging (IM) Connectivity users.|
There may be cases in which the permission settings overlap. In these cases, the more specific permissions override the broader permissions. For example, if the litwareinc.com domain has a permission type of Public and email@example.com has a permission type of Personal, the user-specific permissions override the domain permissions. Similarly, by default all federated users have an access level of Public. However, if you want to provide a federated organization with a different access level, you can set domain-level permissions for that federated organization. The domain-level permissions override the People in domains connected with my company permissions.
You can set permissions in the Level of Access view of the Preferences dialog box. You can add, delete, or modify permission settings.
To prevent another user from sending you messages and seeing your presence status, you can block the user.
Note If the user is not in the user list, click Add. In the Set Access Level dialog box, enter the user’s URI in the Name field.
With Away settings, you can specify whether to automatically set your presence status to Away when your computer is inactive (that is, when there is no mouse or keyboard activity) for a set period of time.
|Set my status to Away when I lock my computer||Check this option if you want your status to appear as Away when you lock your computer, or when you leave your computer and it is automatically locked for you.|
|Set my status to Away when I am inactive for this many minutes||You can specify the number of minutes to transpire when you are inactive (you do not enter keyboard or mouse input) before your status changes to Away.|
You can customize display preferences by editing colors and font choices.
Group Chat provides a default display theme. When you first sign in to Group Chat, a default display theme is set. This theme is applied to all chat rooms. You can modify the default theme to suit your preference.
You can choose colors for your chat room display name and messages.
Group Chat provides a default user color display theme. When you first sign in to the Group Chat, a default user color display theme is set. This theme is applied to all chat rooms. You can modify the default theme to suit your preference.
Sign-in accounts represent different server configurations. They are used when you sign in to Group Chat. You can view, modify, add, or delete sign-in accounts.
Note The display name of the Automatic Configuration sign-in account cannot be changed.
Notifications are alerts that appear on your desktop based on the criteria that you set to trigger these alerts. For example, you can configure notification settings to appear when someone sends a High Importance message to a chat room. Or, you can configure notification settings for New Chat Preferences. These are applied when a user joins a new chat room. You can configure notification preferences for specific chat rooms through the Preferences dialog box. These preferences are applied to either existing chat rooms or new chat rooms.
|Open in new window||Select this option to open a message in a new window when a High Importance message is sent to a chat room to which you belong.|
|Show alert||Select this option to display a system alert when a new message is received.|
|Flash button on the taskbar||Select this option if you want the title bar to flash when a message is received. Select the Flash button on the taskbar check box.|
|Play sound||To play a selected sound when a message is received, select the Play Sound check box. Click a name in the list, or to find other sounds on your computer, click Browse. Click the Play button to hear the sound.|
If you want the unread message count to appear next to the chat room in My Chat, select the Show unread message count check box at the bottom of the Message Notification screen.